Spring

 

According to my calender today is the first day of spring, and for once the weather is in perfect harmony. The sky is an uninterrupted, slightly winter pale, deep blue, the sun is beating down with a force that is a little surprising for this early in the year. Small yellow flowers are blooming in the green and yellow grass in my garden.

I wish I could convey how ecstatic it makes me, sitting with my back against the wall of my tiny house, with the sun warming me for the first time since last summer. There is a certain smell to the air, not of spring yet, but a prelude to it, the smell of freshly mowed grass is not far away.

if I close my eyes and listen to the exuberant birds singing in trees and bushes, the dog barking somewhere in the neighborhood and happy children laughing I can easily forget the clothes I am bundled into and pretend this is possibly the end of a long winter and soon the trees will release tiny green leafs in abundance. There is a simple word for this.

Joy.

View from my chair against the wall
View from my chair against the wall

 

Yellow Flowers
Beauty.. with not so beautiful clumsy finger.
Hannibal enjoyed the sun as well.
Hannibal enjoyed the sun as well.

.

Leave a Reply

