Delta Machine

So the new Depeche Mode album Delta Machine (I am talking about the Deluxe Version) has been out for a couple of weeks and it has been on heavy rotation on the Iphone. The final verdict is not in yet, I am still getting used to the songs, but  this is the first impression on the songs.

Generally the electronics are less playful and experimental than on Sounds of the Universe which is OK. Got an overall 80’ies feel to it.

Welcome To My World: an unexpected* instant hit. I was sold before the intro was over. Deep slow beats and minimal keyboard interference start off the song, but slowly builds up speed and complexity.

Angel: Like the melody, not quite sure about  the vocals yet, even though Dave’s vocals are deep and gritty, which I normally like.

Heaven: I have had a few words to say on Heaven here. Like it well enough, probably a bit better than I did when I wrote that post.

Secret To the End: I am interested, especially the chorus has potential, but could have used a little more.. Umph.

My Little Universe: Boring. Long vapid intro. Subdued vocals. There’s a build up to a chorus that’s almost interesting, but then it fades into more toned down Gahan. Not a song that I will seek out.

Slow:  Interesting riffs. Not sold on it yet.

Broken: Love the vocals on this. Electronics are simple harmonies. Like the chorus a lot. Slow song, but not really a contender for the ballad slot.

The Child Inside: Not impressed. Martin Gore does the vocals on this, and since I prefer Gahan this is not going to be a favorite. It is too slow and it sounds like they’ve turned down the volume on the vocals, giving the electronics the upper hand, which just seems weird to me.

Soft Touch/Raw Nerve: 80’ies keyboard, again those toned down vocals, but this time from Gahan, and his voice is at the deep levels that I love. Still on the fence though.

Should Be Higher:  This song is amazing. It pulls me in, creates a bubble around me. It’s got potential favorite written all over it.   The chorus… WOW! Dave’s doing something new with his vocals. Love, love love it.  The beat makes it hard to sit still.

Alone: again deep tones, which are my favorites, classic Depeche Mode. So much classic, that it feels a little familiar. Its like listening to a song, and not quite being able to tag it to a certain album.

Soothe My Soul: Fast rhythms, love the background electronics and the speed.

Goodbye: Like it very much. The steel guitar riffs, the electronics, Dave.

Happens All The Time: Like it, but it doesn’t stick out much.

Long Time Lie, Always and All That’s Mine: Need to listen to it more.

 

Very few songs are instant hits with me. I need time to reflect and disappear into the songs. They need to time to create a mood and … I don’t know how to explain it. Lets just say that I am a slow listener. Welcome To My World is perfect though.

Leave a Reply

